Orchestre Toubab

Orchestre Toubab was founded in 2010. It is an acoustic afrotropical jazz quartet. The name of the band is a reference to the mythical ‘Orchestre Baobab’, a legendary senegalese band. “Toubab” is also the name by which the Senegalese refer to the Europeans. The name of the band thus clearly depicts the musical identity of the group which gets a large part of it’s inspiration from the music of western Africa.

Orchestre Toubab plays original compositions by Robert Falk, half-way between jazz and world-music.
Instruments are nylon guitar, violin, double-bass and percussions.

Their first CD Tukki Janeer takes us along an imaginary voyage. The opening track, ‘Fuuta Blues’ teleports us immediately on the banks of the Senegal river where the Tukuleur people are living. The voyage then continues in Brazil, Congo and even further into a mythical Phrygia with a few stops along the way in blues and progressive jazz.

Their second CD Teeru Deggoo  has been released in march 2018 . It adds more stops to this journey through afro-descendent styles : a warba from Burkina Faso, rhythms from Rwanda with Andine flavoured melodies , a jazzy reggae, a tango which is a tribute to the late Gato Barbieri, a soukous-sebene track, etc.

Orchestre Toubab plays festive music with a strong African influence, with beautiful themes and inspired improvisations that can even sometimes become crazy ! The jazz approach allows us to constantly re-invent our music depending on our moment’s inspiration and the interaction with the audience.

Orchestre Toubab’s consciously eclectic repertoire is a reminder of how the multiple musical cultures of the world can interconnect and benefit from each other.


Robert Falk : Accoustic Guitar
Benoit Leseure : Violin
Alessio Campanozzi : Double Bass or Gilles Daems 5-string electric bass.
Gauthier Lisein : Percussion

Aida Dao : Special guest (vocals, percussions)


Our first CD is available on Bandcamp : (click on the thread)

Tukki Janeer

Orchestre Toubab

Orchestre Toubab, fondé en 2010, est un quartet de jazz afro-tropical. Le nom du groupe fait référence au mythique groupe sénégalais Orchestre Baobab. Le terme « Toubab » est utilisé par les sénégalais pour qualifier les occidentaux. Ce nom annonce déjà la couleur musicale du groupe qui puise son inspiration principalement dans les musiques africaines.

Orchestre Toubab présente des compositions originales à mi-chemin entre le jazz et la world music. L’instrumentation se compose d’un violon, une guitare nylon, une contrebasse (ou basse électrique)  et de percussions.

Leur premier album Tukki Janeer nous emmène pour un voyage imaginaire. Dès les premières notes de Fuuta Blues, nous sommes téléportés chez les Toucouleurs sur les rives du Fleuve Sénégal. Ensuite, le voyage se poursuit au Brésil, au Congo et même plus loin dans une Phrygie mythique, en faisant quelques arrêts par le blues et le jazz progressif.

Un deuxième album est en cours d’enregistrement et sera près à l’automne/hiver 2017-2018. Il ajoutera encore des escales à ce voyage dans les styles héritiers des riches cultures musicales africaines : rythmes du Rwanda avec des mélodies au goût péruvien, un reggae-jazz, un tango en hommage à Gato Barbieri, un soukous en clin d’oeil, du warba du Burkina Faso, etc.

Orchestre Toubab présente en concert une musique festive, bien rythmée avec des thèmes chatoyants, des ambiances contrastées,  des improvisations inspirées et même parfois franchement délirantes ! C’est une liberté que ne permettrait pas une formule avec chanteur puisque le répertoire est constamment réinventé au gré des inspirations du moment et de l’interaction avec le public.

Musiciens

Robert Falk : Guitare acoustique nylon
Benoit Leseure : Violon
Alessio Campanozzi : Contrebasse/Basse ou
Gilles Daems : Basse électrique 5 cordes
Gauthier Lisein : Percussions

ot

 

 

Notre premier CD est disponible à la vente sur Bandcamp : (cliquer sur le lien)

Tukki Janeer